Contact Us

We would love to hear from you.

County Hall
NP15 1GA

01633 748 316

St Mary’s Priory Centre Project

February 14, 2018 • Approved & Completed

St Mary’s Priory Centre Project

View the results of study here

The Priory Church of St Mary was originally a Benedictine priory founded in 1087 dissolved in 1538 then became the Parish Church of Abergavenny by gift of Henry VIII, and is sometimes called the Westminster Abbey of Wales. The Priory Church of St Mary is home to numerous unique treasures, the most extraordinary is the Jesse, carved from a single piece of oak in the 15th century; this depiction of the lineage of Christ is the only one of its kind in the UK and probably the world. In addition, the Priory Centre includes a music room; kitchen; 12th Century Tithe Barn; food hall with additional kitchen; lobby area currently housing the Tourist Information Centre and the visitor point for the church visitors; upper floor display area currently housing the Abergavenny Tapestry; an interpretation area and learning room.

St Mary’s Priory Centre is seeking funding to commission a study and associated tasks to suggest and recommend the most effective use of its assets in order to safeguard this important cultural heritage and make it sustainable for the future. The Centre is largely run by volunteers and guidance to make maximum use of their assets would be of great help.

This project is £7,640 RDP Leader funding